Activity Stream

Filter
Sort By Time Show
Recent Recent Popular Popular Anytime Anytime Last 24 Hours Last 24 Hours Last 7 Days Last 7 Days Last 30 Days Last 30 Days All All Photos Photos Forum Forums Articles Articles Blog Blogs
  • Irishmafia's Avatar
    Today, 03:47 AM
    Irishmafia replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    BTW, how did #8 get on the base to begin? Didn't the coach attempt to report the "new" CR?
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • Irishmafia's Avatar
    Today, 03:43 AM
    Irishmafia replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    Please note the cited portion of your comment I was addressing
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • Andy's Avatar
    Yesterday, 04:45 PM
    Andy replied to a thread Face masks? in Softball Rules
    How about this quote from the article from a Kentucky HS player: (emphasis is mine) While I am pitching, I always wear a face mask. But I think...
    4 replies | 29 view(s)
  • CecilOne's Avatar
    Yesterday, 03:01 PM
    CecilOne replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    The illegal #8 is not the catcher and has nothing to do with the catcher (whatever number) or the CR, #12.
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • CecilOne's Avatar
    Yesterday, 02:56 PM
    CecilOne replied to a thread Face masks? in Softball Rules
    Exactly. :(
    4 replies | 29 view(s)
  • CecilOne's Avatar
    Yesterday, 02:55 PM
    CecilOne replied to a thread Face masks? in Softball Rules
    Interesting that it's not important enough for this year. :rolleyes:
    4 replies | 29 view(s)
  • NCASAUmp's Avatar
    Yesterday, 02:53 PM
    NCASAUmp replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    Because once I stop the game to DQ the illegal runner, I need a sub. I don't want to continue the game without a complete and proper line-up, as...
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • Irishmafia's Avatar
    Yesterday, 01:40 PM
    Irishmafia replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    Why not? It isn't like the decision on substitution must be made immediately. It isn't like the catcher is leaving (assuming the injury is not an...
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • Irishmafia's Avatar
    Yesterday, 01:32 PM
    Irishmafia replied to a thread Face masks? in Softball Rules
    I wonder what will happen if a player wearing a mask gets clobbered and seriously injured or killed. Remember, there is no standard set. Not big...
    4 replies | 29 view(s)
  • Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.'s Avatar
    Yesterday, 01:36 AM
    This article was in yesterday's online USA Today: ...
    4 replies | 29 view(s)
  • EAJuggalo's Avatar
    07-19-2017, 02:10 AM
    I have been advised to bring two pairs of shoes with me when I head down to Worlds in September. So I'm looking for another pair of the 950's. I...
    44 replies | 5996 view(s)
  • NCASAUmp's Avatar
    07-17-2017, 11:45 PM
    NCASAUmp replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    Sounds right to me. However, if a proper courtesy runner can go in for the pitcher, that's also an option.
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • CecilOne's Avatar
    07-17-2017, 04:50 PM
    CecilOne replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    Agreed. Is this correct for USA? #1 runs as CR for catcher, 1st & 3rd inning. #1 runs as CR for pitcher, 5th inning (umpire mistakes...
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • NCASAUmp's Avatar
    07-14-2017, 05:01 PM
    NCASAUmp replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    That's exactly where I'm going with this. #8 needs to be substituted for before we can do anything else. #12 was announced and accepted as the...
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • CecilOne's Avatar
    07-13-2017, 08:55 PM
    CecilOne replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    1) #8 is disqualified 2) #12 was not legally replaced, so I think can actually still be the CR (the difficult Q, not covered in rules) 3) #8...
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • NCASAUmp's Avatar
    07-13-2017, 04:14 PM
    NCASAUmp replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    Correct! But now what?
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • CecilOne's Avatar
    07-13-2017, 02:56 PM
    CecilOne replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    Welcome to the forum, it is a great place for help. You managed to generate responses from a few of our best sources. Some rule things are true,...
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • CecilOne's Avatar
    07-12-2017, 11:27 PM
    CecilOne replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    #8 is an illegal substitute for #12
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • NCASAUmp's Avatar
    07-12-2017, 08:13 PM
    NCASAUmp started a thread USA Softball (ASA) Illegal Courtesy Runner in Softball Rules
    I'm borrowing this one from another board and adding a little twist... The catcher from Team A safely gets on base, but twists her ankle. Team...
    11 replies | 154 view(s)
  • Irishmafia's Avatar
    07-12-2017, 03:56 PM
    Irishmafia replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    I would suggest you stop looking for specific rules to fit all your scenarios. The rule book is thick enough without addressing every possible...
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • lynnekush's Avatar
    07-10-2017, 08:51 PM
    lynnekush replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    In reponse to what you just said--- I guess perhaps we don't often see a tag play at 2nd in that case - because RI usually gets to second...
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • AtlUmpSteve's Avatar
    07-10-2017, 04:57 PM
    AtlUmpSteve replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    With that in mind, the play would not be different when (same play as your OP) the defense throws to 1st for the first out (rather than tag) then to...
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • lynnekush's Avatar
    07-10-2017, 04:02 PM
    lynnekush replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    Andy-subtle - but that finally explains to me why the out at 2nd for a typical 643 double play is not tag play - which was what I have been stuck...
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • Andy's Avatar
    07-05-2017, 04:58 PM
    Andy replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    Another point based on one of your comments in the OP.... The force is removed because the Batter-Runner was put out prior to reaching first base,...
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • Irishmafia's Avatar
    07-05-2017, 03:25 PM
    Irishmafia replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    Two things because you are a newbie :) A runner is not forced TO a base, but forced FROM a base due to trailing batter-runner/runner(s)...
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • lynnekush's Avatar
    07-05-2017, 03:11 PM
    lynnekush replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    Any time a runner is put out behind a runner who is being forced to the next base, there is no longer any force play on any runner ahead of the...
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • CecilOne's Avatar
    07-05-2017, 12:59 PM
    CecilOne replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    Including an infield fly rule out. :)
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • Rkbump's Avatar
    07-05-2017, 02:28 AM
    Rkbump replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    Any time a runner is put out behind a runner who is being forced to the next base, there is no longer any force play on any runner ahead of the...
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • lynnekush's Avatar
    07-04-2017, 08:06 PM
    lynnekush started a thread USA Softball (ASA) tag plays vs force in Softball Rules
    I am a new UMP- seeing this play called in baseball- got me to thinking and I cannot find this specifically described in a rule book ( if exists and...
    10 replies | 267 view(s)
  • EAJuggalo's Avatar
    07-02-2017, 03:08 PM
    EAJuggalo replied to a thread USA Softball (ASA) Senior league local rule in Softball Rules
    If you are going to treat it as you would 1B then it wouldn't be an out. Runners aren't required to re-touch 1B if there is an overthrow.
    1 replies | 93 view(s)
More Activity